Gluten-free foods to include in your diet

A gluten-free diet is a diet that excludes the protein gluten. Gluten is found in grains such as wheat, barley and rye etc. This diet is primarily used to treat celiac disease.

Although it might seem impossible to eat a diet without grains, you should know that there are many foods that you already eat which are gluten-free. Here are some of them:

1. Naturally gluten-free grains and starches

Many grains are naturally gluten-free and can be easily found in a local grocery store. Some starch-containing foods are also gluten-free. Here are some of them:

  • Rice
  • Corn (maize)
  • Soy
  • Tapioca
  • Quinoa
  • Millet
  • Amaranth
  • Flax
  • Chia
  • Gluten-Free Oats

 2. Healthy fats

Healthy fats are essential for the overall health and well-being of everyone, whether they are on a gluten-free diet or not. Here are some examples of healthy fats to include in a gluten-free diet:

  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Sesame Oil
  • Coconut Oil
  • Olives

 3. Animal proteins

Several sources of animal protein are also gluten-free. You may include foods like:

  • Whole eggs
  • Wild fish (salmon, black cod, trout, sardines)
  • Shellfish and mollusks (shrimp, crab, oysters)
  • Grass-fed meat
  • Pork (lamb, liver, bison, chicken, turkey etc.)

 4. Vegetables

Vegetables are a great substitute for grains and are a naturally available gluten-free source. Include more of these to have a healthy diet:

  • Leafy Greens
  • Spinach
  • Broccoli
  • Kale
  • Chard
  • Cabbage
  • Onions
  • Mushrooms
  • Cauliflower
  • Brussels Sprouts
  • Green beans
  • Radish
  • Turnip
  • Garlic, leek, Fennel, shallots and ginger
  • Water Chestnuts

 5. Low sugar fruits

Certain low-sugar fruits are an excellent source of nutrition and ensure a gluten-free diet. These include:

  • Avocado
  • Bell peppers
  • Cucumber
  • Tomato
  • Zucchini
  • Squash
  • Pumpkin
  • Eggplant
  • Lemons and limes

These are some of the foods that can be liberally consumed if you’re on a gluten-free diet. While selecting grains and starches, ensure that they have not come in contact with other grains which are not gluten-free.